Poppy

By Poppy

Sheep and Neeps

Had to get the car to town, to the garage for its annual service, by 8.45am today, and I'd forgotten how dead Kirkwall was at that time of the morning. The only shops open are the supermarkets, none of the shops I needed opened until 9 or 10am! I headed to the cafe for a bacon roll and a coffee and there met another woman in the same waiting mode! I decided I might as well make the most of my wait so took out my knitting, and it turned out she was a knitter too so we had a great "yarn" for the best part of an hour!

I managed to fill the next four hours browsing in any shop which had a sale on and hunting for treasure in the charity shops! Found a lovely woven wool throw, muted heathery colours, for £1. I'm not sure what I shall do with it, or where I shall put it, but it was far too nice to leave in a basket of potential dog bedding!

On the way home I spotted these sheep, newly moved to this field of neeps (turnips). The ewes are fed on them, coming up to lambing, to give them a bit of extra feed as there is not much nutrition left in the grass at this time of the year.

And the good news is that the only thing the car needed was a new sump - the old one has just about rusted through! It's been ordered, so when it comes home that will be another garage visit - and charity shop trawl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.