a life of vicissitudes

By thinjoe

A challenging photo

I've become obsessed by the Parisian expat's favourite Stephen Clarke over the last few weeks.

Although I had never heard of him before my recent Parisian adventures I've now read a few of his books and just about every Parisian Anglophone I've met will smile whistfully at just the mention of his name. It shows how many foreigners live here that you can make a living from writing books about Paris and France specifically for people who don't speak french, and live here.

One of his books, Paris Revealed, has been particularly enjoyable for me and has led to the discovery of so many interesting sights I would have otherwise have missed. of Rue De Prevot appears in the book as an example of the Parisian habit of strictly adhering to rules, the street is only about 4 ft wide yet the rules state there should be a street sign on each corner, and lo there is. In fact just out of shot on the left there was a third sign carved into the stonework as well.

This photo was a little bit of a challenge but my camera handily has a wee montage mode meaning that taking a photo of these two street signs simultaneously was at least possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.