PlanW

By PlanW

I Been Working And Working

But I Still Got So Terribly Far To Go.

Well, after some deliberation, it's been decided. I considered gi'in' up the drink, denying myself cheese, even withdrawing from drinking tea but after a somewhat philosophical discussion here about the point of it all, ie sacrificing yourself to benefit others rather than just for selfish purposes, I declared that I would 'stop dicking about' at work. Well, until Easter at least.

My boss laughed and suggested I try something a little more realistic which is not really the most supportive response I could have hoped for but he's a good man so I can only comment that his doubt is probably well judged.

Anyway, I'm gonna try. I had some people sitting behind me in an office for a lot of the afternoon and one of them commented that I had been doing 'what could have passed for real work' for what looked like almost the whole time. Ah, that's encouraging. Small steps.

In other news, after a little bit of a frenzy, the crisps have been confiscated from me and locked away. I will be rationed to two packets a day, given to me in the morning so that I can make an adult decision as to when to eat them (by 9.02 I'd wager). It's for my own good.




Work Song, Gregory Porter (and Nina Simone and so many many more but I'm GP mode these days) 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.