Rags of light

By CarolG1

Where to, mate?

It's really hard to choose just one photo from this day. After a night's sleep I felt like my old self and met up with Karen who had a day off from her cycle tour of South India (which was fantastic).

We had a brilliant day exploring Fort Cochin. We found a great fair trade shop where we could buy clothes knowing that a good portion of the money would go back to the village women making them. We walked along the waterfront and watched the fishermen. We took a rickshaw taxi over to the old Jewish quarter where there is a spice market, and then walked all the way back through a local neighbourhood. There were goats and cows wandering in the street, traders going about their business selling everything from computer spares to rice, kids coming home from school in their immaculate school uniforms.

By the end of the day I felt I'd adjusted to the pace, the smells, the sounds, the noise and the personality of Kerala. And to the fact that in all the time I was there I never once saw the taxi meter actually turned on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.