Marking Time

By Libra

Cloud - iCloud?

" I wandered Lonely As A Cloud...."


William Wordsworth could never have envisaged the loaded meaning his words have at the start of the 21st century.


If you are Apple user, as I am, then whether we like it or not we are being hustled into iCloud.

At first I thought this was very romantic having all my information stored somewhere up there in the stratosphere. The other day in the Caribbean I pulled down all my stuff from iCloud and i must admit I was a bit gobsmacked by the technology.

For it stores all my music, photos, apps, calendars, documents, and wirelessly pushes them to all my devices.

"But where exactly is iCloud?" I asked a techie person in my local Apple store.


"Its another name for a server farm"

"Oh yes I have heard about server farms, huge buildings like several football pitches stitched together housing digital information.

But where exactly are they?"

"America..."
"But where?"


A guarded look came over his face.

" We don't really broadcast these facts. They are in the mid-west . Huge underground structures
Two miles deep."


"So, if we have a nuclear war which wipes out all life on the planet our digital lives will continue.....two miles underground?"

"Quite!"

Life was much simpler in Wordsworth's time.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.