A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Not a wry smile

At bedtime J read to me from one of his current favourites (The Mysterious Benedict Society). There was talk of a wry smile - for some reason this tickled him no end and after that he couldn't read the word, 'wry', without giggling. Peculiar child. But at least charming and lovely and barely a "wait" to be had today.

Perhaps he picked up on how tired I am feeling today and how low my patience tanks are running. Not quite sure why. I do have a big work thing happening next Monday and Tuesday and I am doing a lot for it but not ridiculous amounts and in general it seems to be going pretty well. Though I shalln't underestimate my body's ability to take on the stress my brain refuses. Two weeks before my A-Levels I got eczema on my eye-lids and couldn't think of anything when the Dr asked if I had any trauma in my life. To be fair, I think he threw me with the use of the word trauma which I could only associate with death or divorce. When my mom reminded me about my looming exams I didn't think that could possibly be the cause but with more experience now of how my body reacts to stuff I think it's safe to say it was.

Anyway, enough of my medical history - it's nice of my body to take on the worry so I don't have to. Tomorrow I'm going to reward it with a haircut and if all goes to plan another swim on Friday.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.