Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

It's the way he told 'em... RIP

So sad to hear the news of the death of comedian Frank Carson. I had the very great pleasure of meeting him 2 or 3 times. One time I remeber he made me laugh so much, I had to tell him to keep quiet and let me shoot the pics! He had such a twinkle in his eye as every joke creased me up even more. He waited just until I nearly stopped laughing, then fired off another gag, like being tickled with jokes. After my request to let me finish taking photos, he said "This is Frank Carson, News at Ten, being told to shut up!"

While putting together an obit story for the Evening News, I remembered taking pics of Frank and his brother Jim together, at Jim's Scarborough home years ago. So this is a little bit of a cheat blip as it was originally taken in August 1997. After taking quite a few photos, Jim invited me to stay for dinner with his family and Frank, before Frank left to do his show in the town.
A great, friendly, fun man, who'll be making them laugh somewhere else now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.