Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Ring Around the Rosy

Today on the lunch-hour, which isn't when I eat lunch, but it's when I leave the office because everyone else is gone, I took a short walk to find people to surreptitiously photograph with a decently strong telephoto lens. Fate smiled upon me as I neared MIAD, I happened to see what appeared to be a girl "frolicking." Sure enough, as I got closer, it was a young lady and a young man dancing around in a circle. In the time it took me to get framed in and focused, another young woman joined in (presumedly a friend). It was delightful to watch them dance around, and while they stopped about 20 seconds after I started shooting, I enjoyed it while it lasted.

This was not the best photo to give the feeling of them dancing and moving, but it WAS the best photo that was ALSO in focus. I have a lot to learn about my camera's auto focus particularly when it comes to moving objects, and my shakey hands.

Other highlight of the walk: Encountering a small child on a walk with his mom. The child decided this was the perfect place and moment to stand with his head on the ground, looking upside-down between his legs. He stayed like that for a good minute. We all need to take more time to look at things upside-down, just because it seemed like the right moment to do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.