AviLove

By avilover

Kealakekua Bay

Went back to K-Bay today. This is the first place I went on my first day in Hawaii, over a month ago now. Back then I was shown the way by a girl who'd been on the island 3 weeks; today it was my turn to play the veteran and lead a few people down. It was so interesting for me to reflect on how I felt the first time I visited this rocky spot with the all the colorful fishies, to think about how little I knew about this island and how unfamiliar everything felt. My perspective has grown so much in a month.

Kealakekua Bay is a very notable place. In current times it is known as the best snorkeling spot on the whole Hawaiian archipelago, and I have yet to meet anyone who disagrees with that assessment. The fish are fantastic here--there are so many kinds!!--and the water is terrifically clear and gentle.

Historically it is the site of Captain Cook's first landing on the Big Island, the area in which he spent the most time, and eventually the scene of his untimely death at the hands of Hawaiian natives. The anniversary of his demise just passed; he was killed near the beach on February 14th, 1779. The story of Cook's time in the Hawaiian islands (which he actually termed the Sandwich Islands, a name that stuck only briefly) is totally fascinating, though difficult to cover in one blip! Accounts of his death vary from source to source, but it's generally thought that he was struck down while attempting to kidnap a high ranking chief to hold for ransom in exchange for a small boat that had been stolen by natives. A number of unfortunate misunderstandings led up to the event, and in light of Cook's genuine respect and appreciation of the indigenous cultures he encountered during his expeditions, his death is often considered an unnecessary tragedy.

The place was a bit overrun with tourists today--I had trouble getting a shot of the place without a kayak or speedboat or ferry or sport fishing outfit in the foreground--but when you're in the water looking at the neon yellows, blues, greens, and pinks of the fish, it feels like you're the only one in the universe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.