Arachne

By Arachne

My favourite place in the whole wide world

I've lived in different parts of the UK, different countries, and one other continent but I was born in London and it's an unreprogammable part of my system BIOS. Everything happens in London and you never know what you will find.

Waterloo Bridge is the best place to stand, day or night, because the views up and down the Thames are spectacular and because it's no distance to the South Bank. Under the bridge there are sometimes booksellers, sometimes musicians (this is where I first heard the fabulous Portico Quartet busking), sometimes street theatre.

Tonight I came across these actors acting being homeless in a soup kitchen queue. The area was taped off so that directorly sorts of people could stand and make decisions, and the tapes were protected by security heavies telling me not to take photos. The TV lights were blinding - I've had to take down the RGB curve because my camera couldn't cope with the brightness.

The real homeless are close to here, but in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.