Don't Stand in my Light

By JacquiJay

The Parish of Saint George in The Meadows

For quite a long time, I have been catching glimpses of the double bell tower of this church as I drive home from Sainsbury's, so today I decided to track it down. It turns out to be the church of The Parish of Saint George in The Meadows. Typically, the heavens opened just as I got there, but I got a few preliminary shots. There is a patch of derelict ground right in front of the elevation I wanted to photograph, but I think the church goes back a long way, judging by the crosses and the single bell tower in the distance.

I know the church is a Grade II listed building and has been in use since 1888. I would have liked to stay and investigate more, but a combination of factors - the rain, a pressing need to be elsewhere, the oneway system and the fast approaching group of youths with what looked to be fighting dogs - dictated that I should go back another day in better weather and armed with a friend and a local map.

I pass another church with a similar, single bell tower on the way home, I know it as St. Matthias, not sure of its full name, but it is de-consecrated. I can't help thinking the pair of churches probably deserve a bit more attention (and a much better photograph than this one).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.