Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Cups and leaves

More lichen today! Worked at Newent (which is quite rural - Gloucestershire, NW of Gloucester) and I went to have a look at the big old Oak that came down a few weeks back. The farmer whose field it came down in has gradually chopped it up to allow his winter wheat (?) to grow. The poor old lad (Oak, not farmer) is going to be the subject of a fair few blips I reckon. There are just so many wonderful textures, colours, shades and patterns to ignore. I'm also going to steal a great deal of it for my own combustion purposes.

This lichen I absolutely know is Xanthoria polycarpa; and as far as I'm concerned it is beautiful - gorgeous orange, yellow and green. The grey specimen to the left and right defeats my amateur talents; any ides? Looking back at it I should maybe have deepened the field a bit but I was thinking about getting back to the office and dealing with the shite therein.

Cricket nets tonight, and I was utterly bollocks. Maybe the hour in the gym beforehand didn't work out like I hoped. Never mind; it can only get better.

Have a splendid weekend you crazy kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.