Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Someone?s going to be busy

And it fact was busy; but the good news is that it wasn't me!
However, I did work extremely hard at choosing all the plants in the first place, & in my role as project manager/chief overseer, a certain amount of whip-cracking cajoling was necessary to get all 14 shrubs (plus one tree) bought, transported home, & then planted to my satisfaction. I would dearly love to have been able to get out there & do it myself, but I'm fortunate in having an extremely long-suffering husband who patiently shuffled the pots back & forth in the border until I was happy with their arrangement, & then dug holes for each of them.

We inherited an extremely verdant back garden, but when it came to the front our predecessors appear to have adopted a 'scorched earth policy'; the paving is all very nice, but there's just too much of it, & with our property being on a slight rise it's left us so exposed that every time we open the front door we feel we should fling out our arms, & in stentorian tones deliver a Shakesperian speech: "Friends, Romans, Countrymen ?..", though perhaps "All the world's a stage" would be more appropriate? Anyway, assuming that our selection of shrubs all survive, we should end up with a great hedge, & even by next year should begin to have a bit of privacy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.