shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

A great day out

Although the result was pretty much what I expected, all in all they did not too badly. I got a pleasant surprise though, when one of the friends I was with pointed at a banner which was being waved by the Isle of Arran Supporters Club. It wasn't until they gave us the names of the players that I clicked why they were there though (beyond the obvious), one of the Scotland team is from Arran, Lindsay Wheeler, and it turns out that today was her 50th cap, so that was an extra wee nice bit. I don't actually know her, though I've met her dad, but I did know that she played for Scotland (my mum was a PE teacher at Arran High for many years, so she knew her well). There is a young lad from Arran currently doing very well in youth rugby, so we'll see how he does in future.
To find out a bit more about Lindsay, you can read this wee article on the SRU website. I took lots of photos, and am really pleased with quite a few, but I did especially like this one.

The Stirling County pitch, which was the home venue for the match is near the Wallace Monument, and we wondered if it was an attempt to psyche out the opponents, but decided that they'd missed a trick - it should have been the England match played here to get best effect, and the France one in Edinburgh! The final score was 0-23, the team's best 6 Nations score this year, oh dear! It was a fun afternoon, and great that entry was free, they're trying to promote the game, hence moving around the country and not charging, so thank you very much RBS/SRU!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.