Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Paddy

Blair "Paddy" Mayne was a local boy made good during World War II. He was a commando and was one of the earliest members of the Special Air Service (SAS) who operated to great effect behind German and Italian lines. Decorated many times, he died in 1955 in a car accident aged only 40. His life story is a great read. This statue is situated in Newtownards, his home town, which is a few miles away from where I live.
Sophie and I were there today to watch "A Monster In Paris" which we both enjoyed.

In other news, I back Blipped yesterday's Blip here: Home For Dinner, and the body of young Joby Murphy was finally found yesterday morning by divers from Cork - my related Blip. A sad day but I'm sure, in some way, a relief for his family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.