It Started Down Under

By dirk

Silence Before the Storm

On Carnaval Monday morning, I was present at the Heuvel church of Tilburg early to set up my electric piano and amplifier for the soundcheck of the 'kruikenviering'. This annual event is the church celebration that is part of carnaval in Tilburg, the Netherlands. People pay for a ticket to enter the church for this celebration, it is that much fun!

Last year I played the piano here and this year again. This year I was dressed up as the phantom of the opera and I started my entrance with a bit of church organ music (Toccata en fuga by Bach). I was in the church from 10.30h until 15.00h but it was worth the fun and musicality.

The afternoon my girlfriend came to pick me up. We first dropped off the newspapers at my grandmother's and then went to her home where we would spend our final few days together before she would have to leave for China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.