dailykeith

By dailykeith

Giddy

I've never been one for heights, and the problem seems to be getting worse as I get older. So my idea to visit the Clifton Suspension Bridge had a challenging element to it.

It's higher than it looks on the picture postcards and although this makes for spectacular photographs, it sends the head spinning.

I'd heard that they had made the bridge more secure following incidents in the past, but in places there is just a waist-high parapet between safety and a terrifying drop.

I had planned to cross the bridge to take some photos because the sun was directly in front of me standing on the Bristol side. But I just couldn't face it.

It meant I couldn't take shots of the bridge itself, but I got some of the Clifton Observatory and the roof terrace of the Avon Gorge Hotel, which, as you can see, comes with its own treat for those of us with vertigo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.