SnappySez

By Sezo

The Flame of Avalon

(This is not an emergency blip, more of a ARGH its nearly midnight, what do I do thats quick and before midnight, OH I wanted to try taking pics of a lit candle... lets find something suitable ARGH its 10 to 12! C'mon woman! Work out how he hell to use this bloody camera without the flash, and with an ISO that stops the noise in the subdued light, and something about shutter speed right? Aperture? I DONT KNOW JUST TAKE THE PHOTO....)

*click click click click - faff with camera - click click* Oh! Ah! Like this one!

Quick crop to remove all the tat out of the shot and here we are!

This is the Flame of Avalon, well, a candle that was originally lit from a tealight that carried the Flame of Avalon, from the Goddess Temple in Glastonbury. To some people this may make this candle and this light seem 'special'. To me, its a special sacred light from Spirit, that whenever we need it we just need to take a moment and draw on it - in times of great need and emergency. So its rather apt its today's (not an emergency *cough*) blip.

Being on blip has made me want to be more adventurous and actually trying to do it (not just think about it), such as trying to snap a lit candle. I have also learnt how thats possible to do that with my camera (although a bit of luck was involved too, maybe it was Spirit? lol) and I'm that addicted that I did a little jump for joy when I saw the time this photo was taken was just before midnight so STILL counts as a Sunday blip.

Next time I try to snap candles I will - work out better use of the light to stop that over-glow thats there, check the candle doesnt have weird candle wax trails on it, and do it at an 'arty' angle. But its my first attempt, so be kind in your scathing reviews blippers ;)



In other news, I had a fabulous day today with some friends old and new, and might take a pic tomorrow (planned blip!) of the goodies I got :D Unless I managed to get a snap of a squirrel who has been eluding me for a few days now!

(Too tired to change the overuse of brackets, but I like brackets)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.