CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

RELAX... DON'T DO IT!

I'm Only Sleeping

This is how I'm feeling today, but I've got far too much work on to give in to it. This is a ceramic ornament given to me by my lovely German friend Vera with whom I've unfortunately lost touch.

In my pretentious teenage years I wanted to live in a clean white space with no clutter, and with everyone taking their shoes off as they entered (not an uncommon aspiration among the young and pretentious at the time) but I seem to have ended up in a state of late-Victorian clutter. Everyone I know has given me ornaments at some time or another, and I seem to be clinically incapable of throwing anything away.

A small rant brought on by this morning's radio (and every day's radio now, it seems): PLEASE WILL EVERYBODY DESIST FROM STARTING THEIR SENTENCES WITH "SO...". IT DOESN'T MEAN ANYTHING AND IT'S MAKING ME NEARLY AS FURIOUS AS JANEW GETS. It's mostly academics and particularly scientists, but it's spreading. Every interview on 'Material World', lots of 'In Our Time' and any interview with an academic on 'Today' has me shouting at the radio and missing the point of the interview. STOP IT! NOW!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.