Grain Elevator

This morning I had to go to the hospital. Nothing special other than a periodic test. However, it happened that I still learned about certain things that you should do / not do when you want to stay healthy ... :(

The hospital is situated next to Leuvehaven, that photographically extremely attractive location in the north of the city of Rotterdam.

Looking for a new picture, I was approached by a man at work on an ancient grain elevator. If I would like to come aboard and take some pictures in the engine room of the only steam grain elevator that is left in Rotterdam?

In 1927 the ports of Rotterdam were packed with grain elevators. These were giant suction machines that assured correct loading and unloading. The cargo was sucked of an ocean vessel and weighed in the elevator. After the selected quantity was adjusted, the cargo was transported into another, smaller vessel, where its transport into smaller water channels was continued.

There was of course no need to invite me twice ... ;) and so I climbed down a narrow staircase to the engine room below deck. Very impressive and very well maintained! No other photographers or other tourists. The whole space for me alone. But I had a problem, though a luxury problem. When I wanted to show the grain elevator both outside and inside in my journal, which picture to choose?

So I chose for a frame with one picture from the outside and two of the clean and shiny engine room. I know that not everyone likes collages, but I didn't know another way. Enjoy ... ;)

Large is great




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.