MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Face of an Angel

Driving down St James' Lane I had noticed an statue of an angel in the cemetery and thought it would make an interesting subject. Today I walked along the rough path and looked at the graves, most in a state of disrepair. The cemetery is used by students going to and from the university and although there were people about it was wonderfully quiet.
The angel has suffered wear over the years. It has lichen and the wind and rain have caused some damage. The colours of the stone must have changed over the years it is now many different shades of grey but with patches of green, reddy-yellow and dark red tinges. If you look carefully the red blob on the left is actually a ladybird.
I took my pictures and thought I had better at least know who this figure was erected for.
The angel marks the grave of George Hamilton, born September 11th 1888, died December 29th 1888. A very strange moment for me because I realised that 100 years later in March 1988 our son Tom died aged 6 weeks.
We are lucky to have two grown up children who are happy (as far as we can tell) and healthy we are proud of and have spent a lovely weekend with them. Sometimes it helps to get a nudge to make me remember how lucky I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.