Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Christ Church Spitalfields

I delivered my lovingly and agonisingly framed prints to Chris Davalle today for his art show at the weekend.

It is a reflection of staffing levels at News International that I could park right next to him in the main car park at 1pm. The print workers have all moved out to the northern reaches of the M25 and journalists seem thin on the ground.

After our elegant boot manoeuvre he treated me to Chicken Piri Piri in the Wapping canteen, which brought back waves of nostalgia, as well as a little heartburn.

I returned home via Spitalfields.

It was not a great day weather-wise but it's never a bad day for photography, just a matter of approach.

Nicolas Hawkesmoor's church is mainly seen from the front in its simplistic elegance. The garden was open today and I loved the wayward grasses sitting between the flower beds.

From the right angle, which was really low down, to the amusement of passing kids (snapper in blue anorak getting into funny positions... mmm, yeah!) the atmosphere was quite timeless.

I have to say this shot was inspired by seeing Gilbert of "Gilbert and George" sloping by. They live in Fournier Street and I was really surprised to see him on his own. I though they did everything together.

Ah well... another illusion shattered :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.