MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Joiro

Today was an exhausting adventure! I walked with Coralie to UFES- it's a very nice trip. And leaving her at her office, I walked around trying to get oriented. I think I did a fairly good job! I found a paper store and bought my school supplies, found some new shorts (2 pairs is just not enough), bought scissors for cutting my hair (they were pricey, but I justified it because it's likely cheaper than actual haircuts), and a new Espirito Santo based number for my telephone- though I need to go through the adventure of registering it now. Sigh. :) Found my way home though, all by my own wits!

Coralie and I went out to watch the sunset, but were instead drawn in to a discussion with our downstairs neighbor (a shop keeper) and this elderly gentleman, who I assume is also a neighbor. The conversation was good, but the Portuguese was the most difficult to understand that I have yet encountered. We talked about many, many things. Even discussions about how Coralie and I were being eaten by mosquitoes could not dissuade continued conversation. We missed the sunset entirely - by about an hour and a half - and I'm still not sure how to politely excuse myself from conversations with Brazilians. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.