Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Nenny

I have been wanting to blip this gorgeous young lady ever since I started blip, but the office is always so crowded and she is so busy. So, this morning I set out extra early, to be first in line to pay my bill and steal a blip.

Introducing Ms Nenny, who collects the electricity payments at the Listrik shop. Nenny is one of my favorite Bandung characters, she has a wonderful smile that is ALWAYS on display. Nenny always makes an attempt to speak to me in English when she tells me how much I have to pay and is just obviously such a very nice person.

Nenny has a wonderful rapport with her working colleagues. As I was the only customer in the shop, they could all join in the conversation and there was a lot of laughing and excitement, a most enjoyable blip to collect. As I was shooting the set, I asked how long she had been working for Listrik, to which she replied, "Twenty years". I exclaimed, "That is not possible, you are not old enough" and that is when I captured today's blip. I was invited to guess Nenny's age, but I like to think of myself as a gentleman and we don't do such things.

In fact, other than the limitations of my camera and skills, all the shots were great and I have put a selection in folio. Thank's Nenny, you are now a world famous superstar!

The Bandung story - part 17

I stripped off ready and lay on the mattressed bench in anticipation of relief. A few minutes later, a wrinkly old man with no eyes came in, clutching his little bowl and a bottle of oil. This was not what I was expecting, I didn't want to be massaged by a man! I called Tesa, who came running. She made inquiries and explained that he was the only masseur available at that time. Okay, let's get on with it then, I just wanted relief from the pain.

The old man poured out his 'oil' and started work. The oil kind of had a funny smell and his hands dragged on my skin rather than flowing, this just was not comfortable. As he worked his way up my leg, I could feel my skin warming. The warm feeling got warmer and warmer and then hotter and HOTTER! It got to the stage were I was thinking of calling a halt to the proceedings, when he accidently touched a bit he wasn't supposed to. BURNING FIRE! It was like he was using concentrated jalapeño juice!

I sprang to my feet, yelling and screaming, stomping around, opening doors and curtains, looking for a bathroom, shower, kitchen, anything with water would do. Had it been raining, I would have been sat naked in a puddle in the street. I think I scared the life out of the people in the waiting room as the naked white giant marched through, jangling his dangly bits.

Tesa heard all the commotion and came running to me, wrapped in a towel, but didn't understand the problem, so I had to waste more burning time explaining. Eventually the problem was solved with a bucket of water. We both got dressed, paid up and left. I was so furious, but after the burning sensation died down, I did see the funny side. Another one of those life long memories in the can.

Back home and still in pain, Tesa had another idea and phoned her friend. An hour later a masseur arrived at the house, on the back of a motorbike, ridden by her great great great grandson. Yes, she must have been about 120 years old, 4 ft 3 inches tall, bent over and riddled with arthritis, could hardly walk without two people helping her and no eyes!

Tesa assured me that it would be fine, what the hell, I'll try anything to get rid of the pain. She had to climb onto the bed with me, in order to reach. She started work and WOW! She may well have been a physical wreck, but her fingers were like iron. She plucked away at my muscles and tendons like an orchestral harpist.

I was oohing and arrghing as she worked out all the knots and sore spots. I had to take care not to jump when she hit the painful bits, as she would have fallen off the bed and I would have to explain to her grandson how I broke his granny.

After working me for a full two hours, she then worked Tesa for two hours, before departing. Anyone who has tried giving a massage will know how the fingers ache after about five minutes! This old girl was simply amazing and she came back on a weekly appointment after that.

To be continued.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.