dry over here

Managed to get out only half an hour after my intended leaving-time today which I considered quite generous (and probably a pre-holiday record) considering the further instances of apparently being afflicted by Staff Member Single-Instance Disorder and having to repress the urge to say "there's only one of me, both are on holiday for the rest of the week and no fecking way are any of us spending twelve hours in here today" several times apiece during the course of the day. On the plus side I got the money back for the Fringegig the rest of the team went to on Friday to which I was unable to go following double-booking myself by getting all my EIF tickets back in April and forgetting slightly when all the various performances were.

I was intending to jump straight into holiday-during-festival-time mode and go and see some stuff in the evening but didn't get round to it in the end and instead did the washing-up, laundered some clothings (and my work pass though it seems no worse for the experience) and went for a nice big walk in the relatively festivalgoer-free evening mistydampness. Although I technically have to help tidy the flat up in anticipation of the arrival of the Elder tomorrow (shame it wasn't today for the One Year Ago thumbnail) there should be time to get out and about and do things and drink some coffee in between. I should hopefully be able to get a nice big walk out to the airport to collect him and bring him into town on the public omnibus in the evening though might have to bus both ways depending on the various levels of interestingness of the performances I wishlisted of which one or more might have been at a time which would clash with the departure time required to get to the airport at the required moment.

I finally decided to definitely get rid of that sometime soon this evening; it's been sitting about in my spare camera bag for a while and hasn't even really been used for tripod-based night-time shots recently. Despite dragging it around for the past week when fully-bagged (only take the camera and one lens into work when bicycling) I haven't used it except when I've forced myself to and now that the evenings are quickening it just doesn't have the speed to compete with the 35mm f/2. Plus... being a DX it wouldn't be very useful if I ever upgrade to something with a full-frame sensor. Not that I expect this to happen anytime soon. Just in case, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.