YESTERDAY THE DUCKS

were on the shore of the Weser, today they all stand on the ice of the harbour.
Their little heads tucked in their feathers. The swan pair flew one moment above it, shouting, in the direction of the Weser where I found them later washing themselves.
A dark type of day! I went up the hill to see the horses and not only because of them. Although I have 3 or 4 snowdrop flowers in my garden, behind the Eisenbahnerheim there are gardens and orchards (hardly ever have I seen someone there working in it) and there I can see as many snowdrops as I want and as long as I like.
The third and last act of Pirandello's play to be told.

My haiku:

Take us home with you
I hear snowdrops say, it's only
A voice in my head

And the proverb from Keats:

Oh! What a power has white simplicity!

Act III

The commissioner has started a search and found some people who knew Ponza in earlier times. But no real facts come forwards, one witness says that he thinks that Mrs Frola was in a sanatorium, but then is asked which Mme Frola, the mother or the daughter.
Laudisi now suggests that they should ask Mrs Ponza to speak up, she could reveal the truth. They think she will talk to the prefect.
The perfect is arriving at Agazzi's house. He is a good natured man and will help solve the issue. He was actually on his way accompanied by Ponza to Mrs Frola's apartment, but now he leaves Ponza there for the moment.
The prefect: You see Ponza is trying all the time to make her believe he's mad. And he adds that he believes they are torturing Ponza with their search for the truth.
But the answer to this is stated: But supposing she is the one who is trying to keep him in the idea that her daughter is dead, to reassur him. Then not Ponza but Mrs Frola is tortured.
Laudisi thinks that they can trust what Mrs Frola says and at the same time what Ponza says.
Then Ponza is brought in and to everybody's surprise he tells them he want to resign from his job, because he feels persecuted on the part of all. He is sick and tired of it. He says: I refuse to submit to this ferocious prying into my private affairs which will end by undoing a work of love that has cost me untold sacrifices these past two years.
The prefect does object to his resignation and tells Ponza that the people are confused hearing his story and Mrs. Frola's, and Ponza has now to step aside and hear the testimony of the only person who does know.
At this Ponza first refuses this and asks again for his resignation.
This makes the prefect to doubt the words of Ponza and puts forward that he has a legal right to question his wife.
Now Ponza accepts, he will bring his wife but asks that hist mother-in-law must be kept away. He leaves the apartment. Now there starts a talking about how Mrs Ponza lives in sad circumstances, obliged to do all the housework since no one else is ever allowed into her home.
Then Mrs Frola comes in, trembling and weeping. She is told to leave but then she tells the company that she will go out of town. She begs that they must stop all this, let them alone. She says: You think you are helping us, but your doing is working me a great wrong.
At that moment a lady has appeared, she is dressed up in deep mourning and her face is concealed with a thick black impenetrable veil. Mrs Frola shouts: Lena, Lena and Ponza: Julia, Julia.
Mrs Ponza says Ponza: Don't be afraid. Just take her away. Go.
Mrs Frola embraces Ponza saying: Yes, yes, you poor boy, come with me. Weeping to together leave.
Mrs Ponza says then solemny: What else do you want of me, after this. There is a misfortune here, as you see, which must stay hidden: otherwise the remedy which our compassion has found cannot avail.
The prefect: It's only that we'd like tou to tell us...
And Mrs Ponza answers: Tell tou what? The truth? Simply this: I am the daughter of Mrs Frola.
Everybody says: Ah! But she continues: ...and the second wife of Ponza.
All: What?
And she answers: and for myself, I am nobody.
The prefect: No, no, for yourself you must be either one or the other.
Her last words: No, I am she whom you believe me to be. And she leaves.
Laudisi has the last word: Are you now satisfied? and laughs.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.