My Life In Pictures..

By SheWhoGlitters

Right Of Passage..

I undertook every Vet Student's dream today (or so everyone thinks!!) We got to Rectally Palpate cows! Yes, that is sticking my hand (and whole arm) up a cow's posterior.

We're doing about the Reproductive Tract in lectures, and the best way to check if the cow is pregnant, or if there's anything wrong with the uterus or ovaries, is by rectal palpation, and feel through the thin rectal wall. So we all went out to have a go..

I was so proud of myself, I managed to feel everything we were supposed to; cervix, uterine horns and even the ovaries. It's a very difficult thing to get the hang of, so I'm glad I got my head round it.. Or my hand.. :)

Have to say, it's restored my faith in the veterinary profession.. After all this stressing over revision and exams, it's hard to remember why you're doing it all.. It can get really disheartening.. But it's always so much nicer when you get outside and do the things they lecture to us about, working with real animals.. Today, I remembered why I wanted to be a vet, and it put me in a great mood!

I decided I'd jump on the Daffodil band wagon for today's blip, with a shot of some pretty ones on my street.. Looks like spring really is on it's way, finally!!

Hmm. A good day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.