MobileMe

By JohnFDP

Mulberry hexagons

About ten ago I was working for a company that had an office in Hare Hatch, near reading in Berkshire. In the car park was a lovely old Mulberry tree that sadly lost a large limb during a storm. Being a fan of contemporary woodwork I took a chainsaw to the office and cut the limb up and put it in my car. After five long years drying out I asked a friend who makes fabulous furniture if he'd mind making me a desk with the wood. After a meeting of minds we came up with a design that involved cutting the smaller branches into hexagonal pieces and slotting them together to form the top of the desk. The desk took over 500 hours to make and this is a close up of the result - with my keyboard to give a bit of scale.
I love the fact the wood shines with a golden brown lustre, I can count the rings when I am not in the mood for working, it gets darker with each year that passes, but most of all, its unique!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.