Morning Glory

The last day of summer, thanks to Leap Year. The time was 7 am and the temperature was just below 5ºC.

At the beginning of summer I got out the big fan. I have used it four times. I changed my winter duvet for my summer one and have had to use an extra blanket on all but five or six nights. I have worn my between seasons clothing throughout, except for those five or six days. My old woolly cardigan that was going to do me another winter is now pretty well worn out.

Normally at this time of year I am eating beans and tomatoes from my garden every day, but the few tomatoes that have set are slow to ripen, and the beans are only just beginning to flower. With such low overnight temperatures I can't expect anything from them.

Persistent low cloud meant that the mountains, moon and stars were rarely visible.

Sometimes we get a long and balmy Indian Summer. Dare I hope?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.