The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

It's Enough To Make You Throw Your Head Back ....

... And go YAY! The breeding season is here!

I had to go down to Newport Wetlands this afternoon to drop a photo competition entry off. The theme was Winter Wonderland ... I would like to thank Newport Wetlands RSPB for single handedly banishing any wintery weather this year! I ended up entering this blip photo as Winter Storms. Not the most wintery shot there is, but heigh ho! You've got to be in it to win it as they say!

It was a gloomy old day to be honest, and not really good for photography, but it was a fairly interesting day for a bit of bird watching. Everything is gearing up for the breeding season now. There is some serious showing off going on amongst the water fowl. This Pochard was most definitely on the pull, and had a quite a gaggle of attentive females around him. He also had quite a few testosterone fuelled males willing to drive him off to the sidelines as often as they could.

I met up with Nigel (Barman58) and as always we had quite a giggle about things!

I am thinking of going to Roath Park tomorrow to try and get some Great Crested Grebe shots. Thanks to the Andy Rouse workshop I did on Sunday, I suspect I may be lurking in the bushes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.