youngies journey

By youngie66

Game Over/45 years ago at Third Lanark FC

A walk down memory lane as I arrived at Cathkin Park Glasgow once home to the now defunct Third Lanark FC. as I stand on the terracing some 45 years after the club went bust I was just born the year before it happened but most of the terracing still stands today although some parts have trees growing through them, I took the chance to slip on my own team colors of Hearts FC and stood imagining watching a Third Lanark versus Hearts match quite surreal to be here as the ground could accommodate 50,000 fans back then and a little bit of history is that the very last goal ever scored for Third Lanark was by a player named Drew Busby who went on to play for Hearts in the seventy's and was voted the second all time favorite player for Hearts and I still have my signed birthday card from 1974 when a member of the junior Hearts supporters Club with Drew Busby's autograph in it wont be getting rid of that any time soon but I enjoyed the visit for a touch of nostalgia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.