East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Tiny China mug

This unusual little china mug has always intrigued me - it is only 3 inches high and is made of very fine china or porcelain which is translucent. It was given to my mother when she was born but I never found out by who - maybe grandparents or an aunt perhaps. It appears very old and has what look to be hand painted scenes on it, bordered with with gold, and gold scrolls on the top and bottom edges. There are no markings whatsoever on the base.
The painting on the right is a knarled looking tree with gold leaves, the scene to the left is a barn, trees, and in the background what look like pink hills with raised white dots?? Further around to the left there is a lovely gold butterfly and what looks like an abstract flower and pretty green leaves. The painting is rather amateurish but doesn't really look like early Australian work - I'm wondering if it's Japanese maybe.
Why don't we ask more questions when our parents and grandparents are alive - I wish I had, about many things, but especially about their early lives, and especially the grandparents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.