It's a family thing

Family trip to Edinburgh today.  First stop after Waverley - The Patio.  We've been going for donkeys' years: the food's great, and they do a top value lunch menu - but what makes it really special is the full-on Italian welcome.  

I always love the way La Mamma greets you with a charming "how are you, my dear?" before giving any new staff some very forthright on-the-job training.  Don't know what the Italian for 'bollocking' is, but you get the idea.

Went on to see the Ron Mueck exhibition.  I found it absolutely amazing - the sculptures are really moving, which I didn't expect.  Someone had told me how incredibly real-looking they are, but it still comes as a shock.  Obviously there was no photography allowed, but I wish I could have captured some of the expressions on the visitors' faces.  Almost everyone had this delighted, almost joyful look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.