The Wren

By TheWren

Just dreamin'

Coming back from Perth this morning I stopped off at a local farm restaurant where I had previously seen a couple of goats and several young pigs in the surrounding fields. The goats particularly intrigued me as they were a delightful colour and I wondered if they have been bred for their wool. Most of the time this one had its head bent concentrating on grooming itself, while its chum never ventured out of the wee house in the middle of the field. I chose this shot for my blip as the goat looks as if it were smiling to itself, caught in a pleasant dream or harbouring a special secret. I was concerned , however, that there was not a blade of grass in the field where the goats lived. I am obviously very ignorant on these matters as I thought goats loved to eat grass!

The afternoon's walk became rather longer than intended as I was joined by a friend and we met up with other friends by chance and spent a long time chatting! Eventually we continued our walk and both dogs managed to get plenty of exercise as I think some deer had recently been in the area as Bruce, in particular, had his nose to the ground almost constantly with Cara following his lead. At one stage Cara was so hot from her exercise that she wallowed in a very shallow, dank puddle so we were pleased when we found a fresh burn where she could wash herself properly. They are both exhausted now!

As we returned from the walk we could hear beautiful trilling birdsong from high in the tree tops and eventually spotted the bird sitting on its own right at the tip of a conifer, singing its heart out. The zoom on my camera unfortunately was not powerful enough to be able to identify the bird and I am hopeless at recognising birdsong!

Anyway, March has come in like a lamb with a beautiful day here - old folklore now predicts therefore that she will go out like a lion! We will just have to hope that this saying is more of a rhyme than a true weather predictor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.