Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Hello, Zoom!

The much awaited zoom lens arrived this morning and I immediately put it on the D90 for a test run! It is really big and about a pound and a half heavier than my 18-200 lens, so it will take some getting used to. But, based on using it for about an hour today, I LOVE it!! I took this shot through my window, so not quite as crisp as I wanted, but good enough for the first day.

Wouldn't you know it, as soon as the lens arrived, the birds all seemed to vanish. I put peanuts out and waited. And waited. And waited. Finally a couple of titmice and chickadees and one very bast blue jay showed up. And then, the finch gang arrived and the party was on. And, then, just as things were getting good, I had to leave for my appointment with the podiatrist. Diagnosis - plantar fasciitis. I came home with a hideous boot to wear and a bunch of stretches to do. The doctor is also going to see if my insurance company will cover a pair of orthotics to wear in my shoes. I am sure old-lady shoes can't be far away ... Oh well, at least it isn't brain surgery!

I posted two pics of the new lens in my blipfolio along with one shot of the chickadee, also taken with the new lens. The two pics of the lens show it fully retracted, then fully zoomed out. Yikes!

More good news, I seem to have finally passed the worst of the cold! Yay. I am hoping that if the weather is nice tomorrow, I can get out and walk some of the trails at Kittatinny tomorrow - finally.

Last but far from least, I'd like to introduce all of you to one of my very best friends, Peg Lee!! I've known Peg since we were both younger than we are now, going back to our single days in NYC. She has been living in China for about 8 years and I've finally convinced her to join Blip and start chronicling her adventures in Hong Kong and mainland China. Stop by and have a look at her journal - I think you'll enjoy it. She has already connected with Vodkaman...

Happy Thursday, people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.