Vicarsford Cemetery Chapel

Also known as Lady Leng Memorial Chapel.

Built by Sir John Leng (yes him, namesake of The Sir John Leng Trust, or "The Leng Medal" as it is known by many Dundonians kids 'cause they are forced to sing in school competitions each year) in 1895-7 as a memorial to his first wife.

I've always known it as the green roofed church on the hill. Decided to take a detour and a closer look and whilst wandering around started chatting to the caretaker who asked if i'd like to see inside and told me some of the history of the chapel.

He also told me about the recent history of scrap thieves stealing copper and lead from the roof, so they have had to spend a small fortune on a new alarm system for the roof, smart water, lights, loudspeaker alarms etc :(

In return, I held the ladder whilst he went up and retrieved a piece of cardboard that had blown onto the roof.

Decided today that I'm not yet ready to buy a 5D camera and some rather expensive lenses. Most of my current output is landscape focused, and with some visits overseas in the next two months I've decided instead (after much far too much pontificating) to go any buy the Canon 10-22mm lens as its the best superwide for the crop camera I've got. Checked out some reviews online, and a comparison of the 18-200mm I mainly use against this 10-22mm showed far more landscape in the shot so its a no brainer.

The 5D can wait a bit longer. I do want to take this photography lark a bit more seriously, just dont know exactly in what way yet as I'm not doing portraits that much and Wedding photography is scary, plus very crowded market, and one mistake can have huge consequences.

Planko

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.