a life of vicissitudes

By thinjoe

The cost of procrastination

I have ticked something off the to do list today. Go me.
I posted a piece of paperwork to someone in Glasgow. Which is great.
However, it's cost more and caused more hassle than it should have. For a start, I've been meaning to pass this paperwork on since I lived in Glasgow, and could have easily handed it to its recipient. Then I lived in Edinburgh for a year and a half, during which time I visited Glasgow several times and again could have passed it on, equally I could have posted it for far less than the ?1.35 it ended up costing me. And it's not like I forgot during this time, I kept remembering, or getting reminded of this task during this period and entirely have the capacity to buy a stamp and put something in a postbox.

Then I moved to France and while I didn't post the document before leaving, I did pack it so that I could post it on arrival. SO it filled space in my minimal baggage allowance (cost of carbon footprint, added weight for me to carry etc)

I arrived in France on 31st January, and our flat doesn't really have any spare space so the document has sat on our kitchen table for over a month. We then had to buy envelopes to be able to send the document and were forced to buy a pack of 50 for about ?5, the chance of us needing the other 49 is slim.

Then it came to posting this thing today, after a mere 2 years... I got to the post office, to find that the machine doesn't take notes and I didn't have the correct change. This means that as a final cost I had to buy something just to break the note.

I'm not always this good at procrastinating, in fact given the right task I can be quite active. I may have gone on a bit to long about this. And you probably don't care but hey, I thought I'd share the joy of a small menial task adequately achieved.

Also sorry about the dull blips the last few days. scenic shots of paris coming soon, promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.