Robin at large

By Robin

The Second City of the empire

I wonder if there was more than one second city of the empire. February 29th took me to Glasgow, a fairly overcast day, though there had been sunshine when I left Aberdeen. I was born here, but left fairly young, and have seldom been back. This would be the first time I have slept in Glasgow since I was a teenager.

The reason for the visit was to attend a Joan Baez concert. She was excellent, the Concert Hall was full and the audience very appreciative. She performed for two hours with no break, though sipping a cold tea from time to time.

The hotel was a short walk from the Concert Hall, so although it was a long journey for a concert, at least there was only a short walk before and after the concert.

The photograph was taken in George Square and shows Glasgow City Chambers, which has housed the Glasgow city authority since about 1890. This must have been around the period when Glasgow was at its height and may have been the second city of Empire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.