October 4th Journal

By IONAX

One year with Cancer

I think women are better doctors than men. My doctor is a woman in her forties and has taken good care of me for a long time now and that is why I was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer a year ago. The doctors said that I was lucky, being so young (66) and that the cancer was only in the prostate and only in 1,5 samples of 12, but my PSA was sky high, over 30 - normal is 0-4, and the prostate was twice its size.
As the prostate produces the testosterone that makes a man a man, I asked if I was twice the man I used to be.
I decided tho have Radiation Therapy and for 9 weeks last summer I had registration marks on my body, couldn't go swimming or have a bath and had to wash myself with a cloth.
The doctors had to put three tiny gold balls into my prostate so they could aim the ray-gun. The gold balls on the picture are actually chocolate coated malt balls, my favorite sweets which I turned to gold in Photoshop and are much larger than the ones in my prostate.
After the therapy I get randomly hot flashes 24 hours a day and that is one of the reason I cut my hair short - and have never looked better.
I have lots of small-luck; I get a parking lot nearest to the place I am visiting - last night all the storage in the basement of our block were flooded except mine and things like that. I think this small-luck is better than winning the pot in a lottery.
I am a lucky devil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.