Wood's adventures

By Pippilongstock

Borrowed

to borrow to use, appropriate, or introduce from another source

I was wondering how to fit the photo(s) I took today to the challenge title and so I had a little look in the dictionary and realised the link didn't have to be too tenuous.

We went to the Sage tonight, for One Night in Gateshead. A 50th Birthday Celebration of Birtley Folk Club involving North East musical families; The Elliots (who started the club); The Doonans; The Wilsons and The Unthanks.

Tthe Wilsons and Unthanks were spine tingling. And I now really feel that I need to go and find some books about the more recent history (30-40years or so) of the my adopted home, the North East having speant an evening mainly listening to mining and union songs from the past 70 years. Time to learn a little more.

It was a great night and as each family played their part I was reminded how traditional music is shared and adapted and passed on and well, borrowed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.