Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Tufted Duck Drakes

I decided to do my weekend shopping in one of the big supermarkets near Bremen's main station today. I walked there through the park and went home by tram. No carrying of heavy bags for me, please... ;-)

On my way to the shop I saw the Tufted Ducks I had already spotted earlier this week. I was very exited about the find. I had written to the management and even the park's director didn't know about them. So he asked the head gardener who said that he first saw them two years ago and estimated a population of 2- 3 couples. Well, today I saw 6 couples!

They are very shy and hide in the daytime when the park is crowded, so the best time to see them is early in the morning. They are diving ducks and sometimes feed at night, too.

Have a great weekend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.