Small Places

By PicLocata

Under the Forth Bridge

Mrs P and I walked along the Fife Coastal Path from North Queensferry to Aberdour. The day started badly when I dropped my Fuji X100 in the car park; fortunately it bounced with just one obvious scratch.

The coastal path is one of our favourite walks, because there are good views even in bad weather, and frequent trains and buses make it easy to return to the car. The climate along the Forth is relatively mild, so there were lots of crocuses, daffodils and even a couple of tulips out. I've blipped enough flowers recently, so my choice today is something a bit larger!

This view shows how massive and complex a structure is needed to support the slender railway track. For 1890 it was a remarkable achievement.

(I've been using Lighroom 4 Beta recently, and I was impressed how well it handled this picture, where the bridge was necessarily under-exposed against the sky.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.