Jack James

By JackJames

The Queens Hall; Meteor!

Quite an uneventful day; morning in the library, played football at lunch, then did some more reading in the evening.

At half 9 I went to meet Tom and Fay at the library to go to the pub - and just as we left, a bright light in the sky caught our eyes, and we glanced skywards. There, flying overhead, was one of the most amazing things that I've ever seen - a huge meteor burning up in our upper atmosphere.

It streamed slowly from the north, burning with such intensity that it lit the clouds far beneath it, and illuminated its long tail of smoke. We must have seen it for about 6 seconds before the buildings obstructed it, but managed to catch another glimpse of it by running round the side of the library.

I've seen meteors before, but this was amazing - so long, and so clear - it affected me in such a way that I was unable to form coherent sentences until we reached the pub, and even then I kept looking back on it, though cinematic-goggles, imagining us looking up at it in awe and silence. In reality we were much louder, perhaps with some amazed swear words shouted up at the heavens... The image will stay with me forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.