Today's Special

By Connections

Spring Spectacle(s)

A new look for me, in several ways!

I've never had glasses with frames in this color range (reddish-purple -- called "burgundy") before, or as lightweight as this titanium frame -- the progressive lenses with anti-reflection coating and frame come to a mere 0.25oz/10g!

Best of all, after my cataract procedures, I'm seeing better than ever. Even though spring hasn't really sprung here yet, everything seems brighter.

The lovely prop for today's photo was made by my friend Linda, a fiber artist (this was made of wool from her alpacas) and vendor at the Bellingham Farmers Market. I fell in love with it on opening day at the market a couple of years ago, and rare for me, impulsively bought it.

The cozy eggs instantly reminded me of my grandmother and the "nature walks" she would take us on during our childhood visits to her home in southwest Virginia. Slow strolls would be a more apt description, given the heat and humidity, but we always enjoyed hearing Memie, as her grandchildren called her, talk about the robins, Baltimore orioles, wrens, and other birds that built their nests in her yard and those of her neighbors.

If she were alive today, I know she would delight in all of the wonderful bird photos that I enjoy here on Blipfoto!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.