Perfect Day

I awoke this morning in a bit of a funk. I attended a Lupus support group yesterday. While it was wonderful to meet such nice people and to share experiences in a way my friends and family cannot understand (thankfully), it was also sobering to meet people who are much sicker than I am. I tried not to dwell on this, but it was a fitful night of poor sleep.

I attend a wonderful Unitarian congregation and the guest minister today is a hospital chaplain. Her sermon on hospitality and respect for all human beings and the follow up conversation in the parent's covenant group were just what I needed to get back on track. There are lots of sticky questions in life. But ducking from them is certainly not the answer.

After the service, I had a nice nap. Then Bob and I toured the neighborhood for almost an hour on our bikes. We saw a house we lost a bid on and I was rather relieved to see that it was in the midst of a big renovation. I had worried that the house needed more repairs than were obvious (it had been a rental for over 20 years), so it would not have been a good house for us financially. After the bike ride, Bob and I shared ice pops on the front porch. Then his friend Eddie arrived for yet another nerf gun battle.

A great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.