Arachne

By Arachne

Rain

Got half my work done by half-past-midnight so if I have another head-down day I should be finished by tonight.

No temptation to go outside today. There's a lovely, steady, thin rain to soak into the ground and our droughty aquifers. The water table in this part of the UK seems to have turned into a moth-eaten picnic rug, so I'm happy it's driech (thank you, Scots).

This is taken from our shed where I was collecting firewood (with a camera round my neck, as you do). Our last gas bill was very scary, so now that the outside temperature occasionally reaches double figures we're using just the wood burning stove and thick fleeces. It works, even sitting at an attic computer for 12 hours.

This is another corner of our triangular washing line, made from reclaimed pulleys and whatever hooks our predecessors left in the wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.