A view from her shoes

By Saffyre

Bursting with pride

I am so proud of my boys today.

We traveled to Coventry for the GTUK British TaeKwonDo Championships in which both boys were taking part.

Micro Mills has only had 4 lessons so far, having only turned 5 at the end of January, but he was determined to enter, not just watch. He did really well in his pattern and didn't seem phased at all.

I was busy cheering Micro Mills on when I noticed that Mini Mills was nearly finished his pattern on a different mat. I dashed over and fortunately he was through to the next round. He did fantastically, really made an effort and achieved a bronze medal.

Next came sparring. Micro Mills got very upset that he didn't have his own sparring gear, but his Instructor calmed him down and told him that everyone would be sharing because not everyone had their own kit.

I spotted Mini Mills again on a different mat and dashed over. He'd completed his first sparring match and was through to the next round again! I stayed to watch his second match and again he won and was through to the final. His final sparring match was cracking. He did really well, but got winded and a nasty bop on the nose so ended up with a silver medal.

I glanced over and Micro Mills was up and sparring. another mad dash and lots of shouting for him (he really visibly perked up) and it was over. He didn't win but he really enjoyed the experience and got some cracking kicks in.

I'm absolutely bursting with pride at both my boys performance and behaviour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.