Sunday seashells

This is a necklace that belonged to my nan, my mum found it yesterday in an old jewellery box and let me have it :)

The day is only half over but feels so much longer. Stella was demanding my attention at 7am and then mid-morning had another of her confusion episodes. We both got soaked as I was trying to persuade her she didn't want to be sitting in the middle of the lawn shaking in the pouring rain. It's like she hears the rain/wind/whatever while she's indoors so rushes outdoors to get away from it and then is horrified when she gets outside to be confronted with what scared her in the first place! She then has no idea what to do about it so sits waiting to get rescued but is scared to come back inside too. Frustrating for us both but at least she seemed to remember I was friend not foe today.

I have done some research and it would seem the vet was right about early onset senility :( I found there's a condition called Canine Cognitive Dysfunction and she is showing all the symptons aside from the loss of house-training (phew!). It's only mild at the moment as the bad bits only happen about every 10 days and currently only triggered by bad weather.

I will try & get more info on this from people at Crufts and then get her back to the vets to look at possibly changing/adding to her anxiety medication with something better suited to her condition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.