Friday Foto

By drmackem

Saxon Crosses III

I intended today to blip the triquestra on this cross, but it was too weather worn and the light inside didn't illuminate well. Whilst these were 150years post St Cuthbert there remains a big influence of Celtic Christian themes in the carvings. The Triquestra which here would symbolise the Trinity, has origins pre Christian Celtic times with symbolism of ongoing growth and potential, and since then in ideas of three cords giving greater than simply additive strength.

Anyway as I wasn't technically up to adequately photographing them I decided to simply move the stone outside into it's natural habitat. On my own, and realising it probably illegal to move is resorted to some photoshop jiggery pockery.

I like imagining the cross outside where it would have originally existed. I've placed it near and outside of the church. You'll see a flat area of grass this is where my boys play football after Church, the site of the old Roman Fort, the area extends about 100 yard behind me in this shot and then there is a steep embankment down to river bank level.

Back to blipping not having a clue what I'm going to blip til I blip tomorrow

PS Yesterday artist is Joy Godfery (and colours more mutetd in real life)
PPS I edited the date in the text of yesterday journal these are 1200 years old not 800 as initially stated by myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.