The view from here

By cathintheattic

Vintage pop bottle labels

I love these. I bought them years and years ago (15?) from a junk shop in Haworth. They had loads and I wish I had bought more as I returned recently and not only are the labels not there, the shop has gone as well (they and it were there a couple of years ago, but I didn't bother).

It's a collection of assorted pop bottle labels from a company in Todmorden probably spanning the 50s and 60s - there were about 20 in each pack (I bought two packs) and I have hung on to them for years trying to decide what to do with them (they are so precious to me I can't bear the thought of wasting them).

I decided to get a grip and recently blu-tacked them on to a kitchen cupboard with the intention of gluing them on at some point. Can't do it. What if I don't like it? Next time I paint the cupboard I might have to paint over them. I couldn't do that.

So, my decision is to scan them and do something with the scans and keep the labels safe. This photo shows one of my favourites, the Crema Soda Americana and the top of the Ice Cream Soda label, with the Union flag.

If I ever do anything with them I might show you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.